Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
UK Vans RV Forum
Welcome to the UK Vans RV Pilots & Builders Forum.
19.05.2024 at 12:19:42
News: Welcome to the RV (UK) Forum, Registration with proper names keeps forum friendly. Wink
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Time to build a RV 7? (Read 4462 times)
Lee_Elliott
YaBB Newbies

Licensed aircraft
engineer

Time to build a RV 7?
11.12.2009 at 14:51:22

Hi there, new member here, hoping to start building my first RV in about 18 months time when I leave the military.

I was wondering what sort of time frame it takes to build a RV 7? I understand that there are different skill levels, and people put in the hours and some don't.

So, for an skilled worked (I'm a aircraft technician by trade) how many man hours is reasonable for completion?

Many thanks and I look forward to asking many questions... Grin

Lee Elliott
  IP Logged
David Pick
YaBB Newbies

No RV construction
experience... yet

Re: Time to build a RV 7?
Reply #1 - 01.01.2010 at 17:23:55

Sorry that no-one has answered your questions, Lee... Plenty of practical RV knowledge around these parts usually.

There are 2 ways to build an RV7, quick-build and slow build.  The Vans website will tell you about the differences but most people reckon the QB knocks about 1000 hours off the build.  However the Vans estimates seem a bit optimistic - the average (with wide variations) seems to be about 1500-2000 for QB and 2500+ for slow build.

Oh no! I've sold the RV!
Email   IP Logged
bobpipedream
YaBB Newbies

RV6 - the long walk

Reply #2 - 03.01.2010 at 09:52:33

Hi Lee,

There are ways to make it a bit quicker - keep it simple etc. Just don't buy an unstarted RV6 slowbuild - ouch...